Yellowknife

It is the capital of Northwest Territories and is located on the edge of the Arctic Circle. It has a population of more than 20,000 and was originally known for producing gold mines and diamond mines. After discovering several gold mines in 1934, it had the title of "Golden City"; and because local aborigines often wore yellow copper knives to guard gold mines, they were named "Yellow Town."

The location of Yellowknife Town is just below the Aurora oval. Together with the terrain and climate, the Northern Lights can be seen in the northwest for 240 nights a year. It is located in the Great Slave Lake, the tenth largest lake in the world, and has the title of "Northern Light Capital".
There are two auroral seasons in the Northwest: in the fall, the aurora reflections on the unfrozen lakes are breathtaking; in the winter, because of the long nights, there is more time to enjoy the aurora. No matter which Aurora season you visit, it has its own beauty.
The autumn aurora period is from mid-August to early October; the winter aurora period is from early December to early April.

Aurora Village

A half-hour drive from downtown Huangdao Town, the main feature is a dozen traditional aboriginal tents (Teepee tents). While waiting for the aurora, you can go in the tent to warm up, there are stoves and free hot coffee, hot chocolate and all kinds of tea bags.

※Aurora Village official website:http://auroravillage.com

Aurora Safari

In Huangdao Town, you can choose more than 3 ways to watch Aurora, Aurora Hunting, Aurora Chalet, Aurora Village and so on. For the aurora pursuit, we will drive the passengers to the sights of several places.

Great Slave Lake

Located in the northwest of Canada, it is the second largest lake in Canada, second only to Big Bear Lake, and Yellowknife Town is located on the shore of the Great Slave Lake. The Great Slave Lake is a glacial melting lake and a completely pollution-free freshwater lake. In the summer, the Great Slave Lake is a world famous fishing spot.
In the winter, the entire lake will be covered with thick ice, which can be used on different ice activities. The local residents will also fish on the ice (Ice Fish Net).

▌黄刀镇市旅游

The town can be divided into the old town, the new town and other areas. The new city is mainly a large restaurant, commemorative store or restaurant, which is now the urban area of Huangdao Town. The Old Town is dominated by B&B hotels or some Aboriginal art. Franklin Ave. is the most important street in Huangdao Town, across the entire city. To the east of Franklin Avee. is the Literary Center and Diamond Center, to the west is the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Center (Museum), City Council and Visitor Center.
Some of the local large restaurants, small supermarkets or souvenir shops are located on or around Franklin Ave.

Recommended places to visit in the city:

  • Yellowknife Town Hall & New Tourist Service Center: You can purchase the "Certificate of Visiting 60 Degrees North" at the counter of the Tourism Service Center.
  • Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre: It is the Huangdao Town History Museum. It was named after the Prince of Wales in his name because of the opening ceremony of the then Prince of Wales, Charles, in 1975.
  • Pilot's Monument (Bush Pilot’s Monument)It is the commanding height of Huangdao Town. Therefore, this monument is not only to commemorate the pilots who fled when flying over the northern part of the country, but also to overlook the Great Slave Lake, Yellowknife Bay, and the Old Town. ) and a great location in areas such as the surrounding islands.

Winter activities in Huangdao Town

Winter activities: dog sledding, snowmobiles, big slave lakes, hiking, and traditional ice fishing.

黃刀鎮(Yellowknife)

是加拿大西北地區(Northwest Territories)的首府,位於北極圈的邊緣,人口逾2萬人,最初以產金礦及鑽石礦聞名。在1934年發現多個金礦後,擁有了「黃金之城」的稱號;又因當地原住民常佩戴黃色銅刀守護金礦,因此被命名為「黃刀鎮」。

黃刀鎮的地理位置正處於極光帶(Aurora oval)的下方,加上地形優勢和氣候配合,在西北地區每年有 240 個晚上可以看到北極光。地處世界第十大湖-大奴湖北岸(Great Slave Lake),更有「北極光之都」的稱號。
西北地區有兩個極光季節:秋季時,未結冰湖面上的極光倒影令人屏息;冬天則因為漫長夜晚,擁有更多欣賞極光的時間。無論您在哪一個極光季節造訪此地,皆各有其美。
秋季極光期是由8月中至10月初;冬季極光期是於12月初至4月初。

▌極光村(Aurora Village)

距離黃刀鎮市區半小時車程,主要特色就是擁有十幾座傳統原住民帳篷(Teepee帳篷)。在等待極光的同時,可以進去帳篷取暖,裡面有火爐還有免費的熱咖啡、熱巧克力和各式茶包。

※極光村(Aurora Village)官網 :http://auroravillage.com

▌極光追獵(Aurora Safari)

在黃刀鎮,你可以選擇3種以上的方式觀賞極光,極光追獵、極光木屋、極光村等。極光追獵的行程,我們將驅車帶領旅客們至數個景點追極光。

▌大奴湖(Great Slave Lake)

位於加拿大西北部,是全加拿大第二大的湖,僅次於大熊湖,而黃刀鎮就位於大奴湖畔。大奴湖是冰川融成湖,是完全無污染淡水湖泊。夏天時,大奴湖更是世界著名的釣魚勝地。
冬季時,整個湖面都會結上厚冰,可以不同的冰上活動,當地居民還會於冰上拉網捕魚 (Ice Fish Net)。

▌黃刀鎮市區觀光

小鎮主要可以區分為老城區、新城區和其他區域。新城區主要是大型的飯店、紀念商店或是餐廳,也就是現今黃刀鎮市區。舊城區則是以B&B型的旅館或是一些原住民特色的藝術品為主。Franklin Ave.是黃刀鎮最主要的一條街道,劃過整個市區。Franklin Avee.以東是文藝中心和鑽石中心,以西是威爾親王儲北部遺產中心(博物館)、市議會與遊客中心。
當地的一些大型的飯店、小超市賣場或是紀念品商店則是分佈在Franklin Ave上或是週圍的小巷內。

市區推薦參觀景點:

  • 黃刀鎮市政廳&新的旅遊服務中心:在旅遊服務中心的櫃台可購買『到訪北緯60度證明書』。
  • 威爾士王子遺跡館(Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre):是黃刀鎮歷史博物館,因於1975年由當時的英國威爾斯親王–查爾斯主持開幕典禮,所以就以他的名字Prince of Wales為這個博物館命名。
  • 飛行員紀念碑(Bush Pilot’s Monument):是黃刀鎮的制高點,因此,這座紀念碑不僅是為了紀念飛越嶲北地區時犧牲的飛行員,也是俯瞰大奴湖(Great Slave Lake)、黃刀灣(Yellowknife Bay),老城(Old Town)和周邊一些島嶼等區域的絕佳地點。

▌黃刀鎮的冬季活動

冬季活動:狗拉雪橇、雪地摩托車、大奴湖雪地健行、體驗傳統冰上捕魚等。